What Roe Means to Caitlin

In honor of the 38th anniversary of Roe V. Wade, we’re sharing stories from our supporters of what Roe has meant to them. Want to share your story? Leave it in the comments below or email us. You can read the whole series here.

“When I was a child, my mother wanted me to know that I could be anything I wanted to be not in spite of, but because I was a girl. I grew up thinking there wasn’t anything I couldn’t do.

Abortion wasn’t really on my radar at all until middle school. It made me uncomfortable to think about, so I didn’t. By the time I got to high school and then college, I realized that the issue of the legality of abortion is about so much more than the procedure itself. It’s about women’s ability to control their own lives at the very core of that life: their physical bodies. The idea that people were trying to take away abortion rights, and limit them, forcing women to have babies, or on the other side of the coin, discouraging women from having babies or forcing them to give up their babies, and then denying them birth control, and that the most vulnerable women, young women, poor women, and minorities, are the most susceptible and indeed the targets of this reproductive violence, makes me physically ill.

Roe vs. Wade is to me a basic acknowledgement on behalf of the nation that this battle was already fought and women won the basic right of privacy when it comes to what they do with their pregnancies. It’s not everything by a long shot. It obviously doesn’t protect women from restrictions- many states have them. It doesn’t provide for poor women and their babies, or pay for their birth control. These are the things we still have to fight for and that many are fighting for, but Roe is a place to stand, a crucial victory we shouldn’t have to defend nearly 40 years later.”

-Caitlin, Age 23

Want to share your story? Leave it in the comments below or email us.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

